About LEX Reception

Legal product reviews and business guidance from industry experts.

Lawyerist Icon

LEX Reception

LEX Reception logo

Lawyerist Rating for LEX

i

Rating Breakdown

Our Rating: 4.5/5

Our rating is based on our subjective judgment. Use our resources—including our rating and community ratings and reviews—to find the best fit for your firm.

Community Rating: 5/5 (based on 5 ratings)

The community rating is based on the average of the community reviews below.

Composite Rating: 4.7/5

The composite rating is a weighted average of our rating and the community ratings below.

4.7/5

Product Details

Services Offered
  • Virtual Receptionist
  • Chat
Software Integrations
  • Clio Manage
  • Clio Grow
  • MyCase
  • Lexicata
  • Slack
  • PracticePanther
  • Lawmatics
  • Filevine
  • HubSpot
  • Rocket Matter
  • Salesforce
  • Zapier
  • Google Voice
  • Zoho
  • Law Ruler
  • Lawcus
  • MailChimp
Additional Languages
  • Spanish

Core Features

For Virtual Receptionists & Outsourced Staffing, the following are essential features, and you should therefore expect to see a check in every box in this section.

Yes
No

Free Trial

Live Receptionist

Although they are called "virtual" receptionists, the person who answers the phone is, in fact, a real person who can use your customized greeting, request information according to your instructions, make warm transfers to you, or take messages.

Appointment Scheduling

You can give your receptionist access to your calendar or scheduler so they can book appointments for you.

Client Intake

A virtual receptionist service can be a partner in your intake process rather than only and ask questions and gather information according to your intake script.

Outbound Calls

Some virtual receptionist services will make calls for you in order to relay basic information such as confirming an appointment, providing directions to your office, or making referrals.

Free Local or Toll-Free Phone Number

You may prefer to use a different phone number to help you track your callers, or a toll-free number to make it easier for some people to contact you.

Live Chat

We're using live chat to mean chat plus a team to respond to inquiries, as opposed to a chat tool you can use to respond yourself.

Chat Tool

With a chat tool you can add a chat box to your website so that visitors can chat directly with you or your firm staff when you are available.

Chatbot

A chatbot is an automated messaging tool for automated communication with visitors to your website or within commonly used messaging apps like Facebook Messenger. Some are essentially a guided form, while others might use AI to answer more complex questions.

Call Routing

With call routing you can direct incoming calls based on criteria you set. For example, you could send existing clients directly to the lawyer handling their matter. Or distribute potential client calls evenly among intake staff. Or just send calls to your virtual receptionist after hours.

Voicemail Transcription

Your phone service can transcribe your voicemails using text recognition software so you can read your messages instead of listening to them.

Call Recording

"This call may be recorded for quality control purposes." Only if you want to, of course.

Call Analytics

Use information about your calls to identify patterns, calculate the ROI of your marketing efforts, and improve your client service.

Text Messaging

Send and receive text messages using your business phone system.

Compare LEX Reception Similar Products

Select another product to compare:

LEX Reception

4.7/5

LEX Reception logo
Pros
  • Administrative Services
  • Easy setup
  • Multi-lingual
Cons
  • Not for High Volume
  • Weak Call Analytics
  • No Voicemail Transcription

Smith.ai

4.4/5

smith.ai review logo
Pros
  • Live Chat
  • Integrations
  • Business Texting
Cons
  • Complex setup
  • No App
  • Not Just for Legal

Ruby

4.5/5

ruby logo
Pros
  • Integrations
  • Business Texting
  • 24/7/365
Cons
  • Not for High Volume
  • Weak Call Analytics
  • Not Just for Legal

Back Office Betties

4.5/5

Lawyerist Back Office Betties Logo
Pros
  • Unlimited Tier
  • Administrative Services
  • Warm Transfer
Cons
  • Not Available 24/7
  • Additional Charge for Team Members
  • Not for High Volume

Abby Connect

4.2/5

Abby Connect Logo
Pros
  • Integrations
  • Multi-lingual
  • 24/7/365
Cons
  • Not for High Volume
  • Weak Call Analytics
  • Not Just for Legal

LEX Reception Community Reviews

5

Based on 5 Reviews

5
0
0
0
0
Write a Review

Leave a Review

Katherine d.

5/5

“Wonderful Customer Service”

March 18, 2021 10:22 AM

I am thoroughly impressed with LEX! My clients love the service and the operators leave careful messages. I'm so pleased with LEX's proactive approach to service and billing. They regularly reach out to make sure that pronunciation and script details are correct. Also, they're wonderfully fair and mindful of your actual use. LEX proactively pursued a change to my plan that created substantial savings for my practice. I'm a true fan!

Michael H.

5/5

“Pleased With Service”

March 12, 2021 10:24 AM

Has been a major help to our whole firm, especially since Covid.

Loren R.

5/5

“Great onboarding experience!”

February 16, 2021 2:00 PM

I just signed up with Lex and am extremely impressed with the onboarding experience. My contact person made the process very easy for me which I appreciated being totally overwhelmed with work. I look forward to benefitting from their services.

nickp

5/5

“Excellent Customer Experience”

December 16, 2020 8:26 PM

We've tried a lot of Virtual Reception services, and Lex has been the best value. They have all the features and integrations we need. The app for iOS is well-built and also pushes notifications to my Apple Watch so I can keep an eye on all the new leads coming in wherever I am. They charge by the minute, which makes them much more affordable for us as we tend to have short calls that need to be routed rather than a long intake script. They take feedback well, but our script is not very complicated. It really comes down to working with them to build out the script you need, so send them an e-mail anytime and they will help you get set up. They are a legal vertical niche of the larger company Anywhere.co, which means you get the best of both a small team and a larger company that knows outsourcing really well (similar to how LawPay is a legal niche of Affinipay). We've been with them for 2 years, and have been quite happy with the service. The price and value can't be beat!

cbarberjd

5/5

“Exceeded Expectations and continue to excell”

April 11, 2020 4:25 AM

I have had nothing but positive experiences with Lex. From the dedication from tech support to the positive comments from my clients and potential clients. While I'm not deceptive about using a service, most my callers assume there is a person sitting at a reception desk in my lobby. Well done.

REVIEWS (5 out of 5)

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the price of LEX Reception?

LEX Reception has 4 plans, ranging from $150/month to $500/month. Calls are billed in 1 minute increments, and the first 30 calls under 30 seconds, each month, are free.

What services does LEX Reception provide?

LEX offers virtual receptionist services, as well as live chat that can easily be incorporated into your website.

Will I need to port my number?

Attorneys using LEX can either forward their phone number from their current provider, or they can port their existing office numbers to let LEX Reception handle the entire process.

Will LEX Reception work with my CRM?

With a host of ready-made integrations and an Open API, LEX will either integrate with your CRM, or can be made to do so. Additionally, if it is more convenient, a firm can also simply have the receptionist interact with your public CRM form.

Does LEX Reception offer bi-lingual services?

Yes, like most law firm receptionist services, LEX offers Spanish-language answering services.

Does LEX Reception have an app?

LEX Reception has a web application that can be accessed either through a user’s browser or the stand-alone app. This app allows firms to control their call-flows, intake scripts, and more.

Is LEX Reception focused on the legal field?

Yes, as the name implies, LEX Reception is a service only for the legal field. This means that a more knowledgeable receptionist will be interacting with your clients and potential clients.

What are LEX Reception's hours?

LEX Reception is available 24/7/365.

Does LEX Reception offer virtual assistant services?

Although LEX specializes in reception services, they will also make outbound calls for law offices, which can help immensely with follow-ups to your web-form interactions.

Is LEX Reception good for solos?

Yes. LEX is good for solos and medium-sized law firms alike. They offer features that will help your team collaborate, but are fundamentally useful to a single-attorney team.

Additional Details about LEX Reception

Who LEX Reception is for

With its always-on availability, LEX Reception is sure to help most any attorney who wants to keep client calls from going to voicemail. Additionally, its scalability and customization packages make it well suited for law firms of all sizes. LEX, however, is probably best for attorneys who have (or are building) a robust client intake process.

On the other hand, with the ability to turn the service off and on at will, LEX could also be beneficial for attorneys who simply want to start taking Friday afternoons off.

LEX Receptions Highlights

Free training. As part of your onboarding process, you will receive two training sessions on how to get the most out of your virtual receptionist service. You will receive an automatic tutorial when you first log into your LEX Reception dashboard, and a one-on-one tutorial with your dedicated client account manager, going through its Dashboard features in-depth.

Web chat tool. LEX offers webchat as a free add-on.

Overage charges. You will receive a notification when you have used 80% of your minutes, and another notification when you have used 100% of your minutes. Once you go over your minute limit, overage charges are set at $1.50 per minute for all plans except the 150 minute plan. You always have the option to upgrade your plan for any month to avoid overages.

Month-to-month. Contracts with LEX Reception are month-to-month. This means if you do need to upgrade or downgrade or pause your package for a period of time, you can do that hassle free.

Trained receptionists. Before taking their first call, receptionists are required to go through two weeks of training. The first week is a group training to go over procedures, the second week is a one-on-one mentoring session. After that, receptionists are mentored and coached regularly to ensure that the service they provide is of the highest caliber.

Partner Demo

Client Testimonial

News About Products & Services for Small Law Firms

Improve Client Experience with LawPay Custom Payment Pages...

Read Post

Hire Differently, Hire Better, with Rick Girard

Read Post

Google Vicinity Update Enhances Importance of Local SEO

Read Post

Craft Better Firm Intake Through Automation with Law...

Read Post

Start With Succession Planning in Mind, with Steven...

Read Post

Marketing Through Podcasts, with LawPods (Sponsored)

Read Post

LawPay Acquires MyCase: What Does it Mean for...

Read Post

LawPay Takes Care of PCI Compliance While You...

Read Post

MyCase Drive Brings Native Document Management to Users

Read Post

Dealing With Grief in the Workplace, with Sherry...

Read Post

Lawyerist Works Remotely

Read Post

Both Sides of Freelance Work, with LawClerk (Sponsored)

Read Post

CosmoLex Highlights Versatility with Robust Custom Fields

Read Post

Change Your Law Firm (and Your Life) with...

Read Post

Beyond Status Quo Marketing, with CallRail (Sponsored)

Read Post

Lawyerist Values: Grow as People

Read Post

Immigration Software as Flexible as You Are

Read Post

Avoiding Common Project Management Mistakes, with Ashley Steckler

Read Post

Lawyerist Adds Depth to Its Marketing Team with...

Read Post

Zola Suite All-in-One CRM to Accounting

Read Post