Back to Top

About Smith.ai

Legal product reviews and business guidance from industry experts.

Lawyerist Icon

Smith.ai

smith.ai review logo

Lawyerist Rating for Smith

i

Rating Breakdown

Our Rating: 4.4/5

Our rating is based on our subjective judgment. Use our resources—including our rating and community ratings and reviews—to find the best fit for your firm.

Community Rating: 4.5/5 (based on 17 ratings)

The community rating is based on the average of the community reviews below.

Composite Rating: 4.4/5

The composite rating is a weighted average of our rating and the community ratings below.

4.4/5

Product Details

Services Offered
  • Virtual Receptionist
  • Chat
  • Phone
Software Integrations
  • Clio Manage
  • Clio Grow
  • Acuity
  • Calendly
  • LawPay
  • Lexicata
  • Slack
  • PracticePanther
  • Infusionsoft
  • ActiveCampaign
  • Agile CRM
  • AppToto
  • ApointmentCore
  • Appointy
  • Lawmatics
  • Capsule CRM
  • ClientRock
  • Filevine
  • Harmonizely
  • Headnote
  • HubSpot
  • Lead Docket
  • Pipedrive
  • Square Appointments
  • Rocket Matter
  • Salesforce
  • ScheduleOnce
  • Schedulista
  • Setmore
  • Woven
  • WhenWorks
  • Youcanbook.me
  • Zapier
  • ZynCal Calendar
Additional Languages
  • Spanish

Core Features

For Virtual Receptionists & Outsourced Staffing, the following are essential features, and you should therefore expect to see a check in every box in this section.

Yes
No

Free Trial

Live Receptionist

Although they are called "virtual" receptionists, the person who answers the phone is, in fact, a real person who can use your customized greeting, request information according to your instructions, make warm transfers to you, or take messages.

Appointment Scheduling

You can give your receptionist access to your calendar or scheduler so they can book appointments for you.

Client Intake

A virtual receptionist service can be a partner in your intake process rather than only and ask questions and gather information according to your intake script.

Outbound Calls

Some virtual receptionist services will make calls for you in order to relay basic information such as confirming an appointment, providing directions to your office, or making referrals.

Free Local or Toll-Free Phone Number

You may prefer to use a different phone number to help you track your callers, or a toll-free number to make it easier for some people to contact you.

Live Chat

We're using live chat to mean chat plus a team to respond to inquiries, as opposed to a chat tool you can use to respond yourself.

Chat Tool

With a chat tool you can add a chat box to your website so that visitors can chat directly with you or your firm staff when you are available.

Chatbot

A chatbot is an automated messaging tool for automated communication with visitors to your website or within commonly used messaging apps like Facebook Messenger. Some are essentially a guided form, while others might use AI to answer more complex questions.

Call Routing

With call routing you can direct incoming calls based on criteria you set. For example, you could send existing clients directly to the lawyer handling their matter. Or distribute potential client calls evenly among intake staff. Or just send calls to your virtual receptionist after hours.

Voicemail Transcription

Your phone service can transcribe your voicemails using text recognition software so you can read your messages instead of listening to them.

Call Recording

"This call may be recorded for quality control purposes." Only if you want to, of course.

Call Analytics

Use information about your calls to identify patterns, calculate the ROI of your marketing efforts, and improve your client service.

Text Messaging

Send and receive text messages using your business phone system.

Compare Smith.ai Similar Products

Select another product to compare:

Smith.ai

4.4/5

smith.ai review logo
Pros
  • Live Chat
  • Integrations
  • Business Texting
Cons
  • Complex setup
  • No App
  • Not Just for Legal

Ruby

4.5/5

ruby logo
Pros
  • Integrations
  • Business Texting
  • 24/7/365
Cons
  • Not for High Volume
  • Weak Call Analytics
  • Not Just for Legal

LEX Reception

4.7/5

LEX Reception logo
Pros
  • Administrative Services
  • Easy setup
  • Multi-lingual
Cons
  • Not for High Volume
  • Expensive
  • No Voicemail Transcription

Back Office Betties

4.5/5

Lawyerist Back Office Betties Logo
Pros
  • Unlimited Tier
  • Administrative Services
  • Warm Transfer
Cons
  • Not Available 24/7
  • Additional Charge for Team Members
  • Not for High Volume

Nexa (formerly Answer1)

4/5

nexa logo
Pros
  • Integrations
  • Multi-lingual
  • 24/7/365
Cons
  • No Chat Tool
  • Not Just for Legal
  • No Voicemail Transcription

Smith.ai Community Reviews

4.5

Based on 17 Reviews

14
0
1
1
1
Write a Review

Leave a Review

Rachel A.

5/5

“Best Investment for a Solo Attorney”

January 3, 2022 2:47 PM

Hiring Smith.ai to handle my reception services is one of the best investments I have made so far as a solo attorney. Having a live person answer all of my calls and gather specific, detailed information from my clients and let them know when they can expect to hear back is invaluable. Juggling my own phones meant most clients, especially new leads, ended up in voicemail. It would often be a day or two before I could get back to them and it felt like a cold call, since I had no details perform a conflict check or to prepare a useful response for the caller. With Smith.ai, the capable receptionists gather all the details I have requested and upload my leads directly to my Clio Grow inbox. I also receive a detailed email with every call, so my follow up time is not wasted gathering information. I am exclusively using Smith.ai during all business hours and I currently have an 81% conversion rate for leads, up from 70% using voicemail and phone tag. Using Smith.ai as needed to return calls, gather follow up information and schedule appointments is a lifesaver for a busy solo. Compared to hiring staff, this is a tremendous cost-saver and I get 24/7 support with minimal commitment on my end. I decide which callers are transferred and which leave a message and I can change my parameters at any time from my dashboard or with a quick email to Smith.ai. They also eliminate wasted time on spam/solicitor calls which they filter out at no charge to me! They are responsive to any inquiry and have always followed my instructions precisely. Smith.ai has been the solution to my staffing needs and I am thrilled to have them on my team.

Aaron W.

3/5

“More and more calls not picked up or go to voicemail”

June 20, 2021 4:21 PM

I'm providing an update to my previous review. Overall I've been very happy with Smith.ai, but lately more and more calls are going to Smith.ai's voicemail or not being picked up at all. I use CallRail on our backend and can see full call metrics and access recordings of all calls. I've seen several leads that have tried calling multiple times over the course of a several hour period in the middle of the day and each time it either goes to Smith.ai's voicemail or rings 7-8 times before the lead hangs up. Also, several recordings show that Smith.ai's side of the call has a low call quality causing the lead to hang up frustrated. I will repeat that MOST calls seem to be handled fine, but if 20-30% are having these issues, I'm not sure if I can really recommend the service.

Aaron W.

5/5

“Very helpful service”

January 25, 2021 12:53 PM

I recently signed up with Smith.ai to answer calls for my solo practice law firm. Although there are hiccups from time to time, overall I found their service invaluable for helping me contact new leads and schedule consultations. For example, there were several times that a call came in well outside working hours, such as 3am, and Smith.ai was there to answer and schedule a consultation. I've absolutely signed up more clients due to Smith.ai, which already paid for itself during the first couple days of the month.

Sara K.

5/5

“Highly Recommend Smith.AI”

October 20, 2020 1:28 PM

We switched to Smith.AI earlier this year (right before the lockdowns) and we are so impressed with everything at Smith.AI. We've had several clients tell us they are very impressed with our "receptionist." Last week, we had an attorney "secret shop" our phone intake system and he was so impressed, he is now considering changing to Smith.AI in the near future. He had no idea it was an answering service! Yay! We used LexHelper for years and were not impressed with the customer service at all (it was a good price compared to other services, but that's the only positive). We also tried Ruby Receptionists. They were much better, but super expensive. The only pro for Ruby was the app (but that alone is not worth the price of their services). I set up the free chat bot with Smith.AI in less than 2 hours (and 1/2 that time was figuring out what to write and what to name the bot). Everything Smith.AI does is efficient, cost-effective, and professional. I feel like we're on the same team when we work with Smith.AI (i.e., they're one of our in-house team members and vice versa). We get highly detailed and thorough messages (via email) after each call. I'm never left to wonder what the call was about or what steps I need to take next. I haven't had a single complaint about Smith.AI (nor have I heard one from a caller) in 8 months and we've had hundreds of calls so far. Using Smith.AI frees up at least 10 hours a week of staff and attorney time. They're very responsive to our requests -- they always get back to us within a day if we have a request and usually it's within the hour. I highly recommend Smith.AI for answering your phones, client intake, and chat bots for your website. People -- why are YOU still answering your own phones?!? Sign up for Smith.AI TODAY!!!

David P.

5/5

“Terrific Service”

September 30, 2020 5:43 PM

Debated with my partner about whether we should hire a service like Smith or one or their competitors, and if we could afford it. Seems silly in retrospect as we can't imagine working without them. Professionally handling both new leads and existing clients pays for itself, both in our increased productivity, not having to have a full time staffer to answer phones, and in a timely professional response to new leads that begins the trust building process to retain new clients. In addition to answering calls, Smith sends end of day reports so that we can easily make sure we handled the business of the day or the week and nothing falls thru the cracks. Integration with our CRM saves time as well. And we're still adding additional features from Smith to make our firm more efficient. Highest recommendation

Heather G.

5/5

“Amazing Service”

September 24, 2020 11:52 AM

I have research several answering services and none compare to Smith.ai. The agents are very nice, they get all the necessary information when taking a message and we love the live transfer option. Even when there are errors, they are quick to fix and quick with their responses. The only thing missing is a customer support line or an account rep that personally handles all the changes.

REVIEWS (6 out of 17)

Additional Details about Smith.ai

Qualified new leads

Smith.ai can help qualify potential clients based on your criteria, then handle the call accordingly (by transferring the call to you, scheduling a call back, booking a consultation on your calendar, or making a referral). Smith.ai can even take payment if you charge for new client consults. Additionally, Smith.ai can perform a conflict check and review on the potential clients prior to them getting to your system.

Free spam blocking

Smith.ai blocks spam, sales, and wrong-number calls for free so you won’t be charged. In addition, they’ll also block any specific numbers you want blocked.

Rotating receptionists

There are no set receptionists for your practice. Instead, a rotating group of receptionists will handle your calls. This will be done based on the criteria and preferences you set with Smith.ai prior to enrolling. Having no set receptionists means that if you happen to receive more calls than usual, either through a new marketing campaign or by just being busy, there will be plenty of capacity to handle your higher call volume. And don’t worry about training new receptionists to your practice, they’ll be using proprietary AI software to handle calls naturally, following the prompts and interface (not scripts) on their computer screens.

Smith.ai live reception hours

Live reception is now available 24/7/365 across all platforms, including virtual receptionist, live chat, SMS texting, and Facebook Messenger.

Smith.ai live chat review

Smith.ai’s various chat features allows your firm to answer SMS Text messages, Facebook Messenger messages, and website chat portal messages all with a live receptionist. Smith.ai has also implemented SMS Text and email follow up, as well as a Chat-to-Call function, which allows a potential client to request a callback from a live agent directly from their ongoing chat.

News About Products & Services for Small Law Firms