cosmolex logo

CosmoLex

Visit Website

CosmoLex Rating:
3.7/5

Features

  • Customer Experience & Support - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Pricing & Value - 8.75/10
    8.8/10
  • Security - 10/10
    10/10
  • Innovation & Future-Proofing - 8.75/10
    8.8/10
Comments Rating 3.33 (3 reviews)
Details

Rating Breakdown

Our Rating: 4.5/5

Our rating is based on our subjective judgment. Use our resources—including our rating and community ratings and reviews—to find the best fit for your firm.

Community Rating: 3.3/5 (based on 3 ratings)

The community rating is based on the average of the community reviews below.

Composite Rating: 3.7/5

The composite rating is a weighted average of our rating and the community ratings below.

CosmoLex is a cloud-based practice management software with a robust feature set that includes a full law-firm accounting package. CosmoLex’s accounting features mean you don’t have to deal with migrating information to and from a general-purpose accounting software package like QuickBooks or Xero.

Who CosmoLex is For

CosmoLex is an excellent choice for firms that want robust accounting included with full-featured cloud-based practice management software.

On the other hand, CosmoLex probably is not a great fit for firms that need to link a number of software and services together, unless they are included in the list of third-party apps CosmoLex already supports.

Features

Website
www.cosmolex.com
Starting Cost
$79/user/month
Apps
  • iOS
  • Web
Installation
  • Cloud
Core Features
For law practice management software, the following are essential features, and you should therefore expect to see a check in every box in this section.
Case/Matter Management
Matter management is the defining feature of law practice management software, of course. However, some software is targeted at specific practice areas and may implement case management in different ways in order to manage information specific to those practice areas.
Client/Contact Management
Managing clients and other contacts is a core feature of law practice management software.
Task Management
Basic task management includes creating tasks with due dates that can be associated with cases/matters and assigned to different lawyers. Some products stick to pretty basic task management, while others offer enough features to make any Getting Things Done devotee happy.
Calendar
As with email, this feature means a full calendar client, not just an integration with Outlook or Google Calendar.
Timekeeping
Timekeeping is a core feature of practice management software, essential for lawyers who bill by the hour but useful even for those who don't.
Additional Features
Conflict Checking
An actual conflict checker is more than just a search box. This applies to software that actually has a conflict checking feature. Implementation varies, but at a minimum you should be able to search the entire database for matching names. It should check for conflicts accurately and intuitively, allow for a lateral hire to input their conflict database into the system, work quickly when new clients call, and comply with the rules of professional conduct for checking conflicts.
Email Client
Does it include a full email client? (Alternative solutions that don't amount to an email client, like plugins for Outlook or Gmail, do not earn a check for this feature. See software integrations, below.))
Text Messaging
Can you send and receive text messages and associate them with your matters?
Document Management
Basic document management allows you to add documents and associate them with your cases/matters.
Document Assembly
Loading your firm’s document templates into your law practice management software can save time and ensure consistency. This check means basic document assembly suitable for form letters, invoices, etc. For advanced document assembly, you’ll probably need additional software.
Secure Client Portal
Basic Bookkeeping
This means basic checkbook register–style bookkeeping, which is more limited than full accounting. You should be able to keep track of your operating accounts and reconcile your balances, but you may still need full accounting software.
Trust Accounting
This means you can track your client trust accounts, including expenses and payments. It is normal to see trust accounting without basic bookkeeping or full accounting, in which case you will need something else for accounting.
Full Accounting
Some software includes full double-entry accounting features, making additional accounting software unnecessary.
Billing & Invoicing
Does the software allow you to send bills or invoices?
Online Payments
Payment processing is increasingly offered either as an included or add-on feature, especially with cloud-based law practice management software.
Software Integrations
Open API
Cosmolex pricing and screen shots for Law Practice Management Software

Additional Details about CosmoLex

Workflows. Using CosmoLex’s Workflows feature, you can add a series of tasks that are triggered by the completion of the previous task or another time frame you set.

Single-page application. Speed matters, especially when it comes to browser-based software. CosmoLex feels fast and responsive because the page doesn’t reload every time you click a link or button. Most of the time, it feels just as fast as desktop software.

Include your accountant. If you intend to do your accounting in CosmoLex, it’s a good idea to get your bookkeeper and accountant on board before you switch. They shouldn’t have any objection—trust accounting, in particular, will be much easier in CosmoLex—but they will need to work with it, too.

Security. CosmoLex protects all data traveling between your computer and CosmoLex’s servers using 256-bit SSL encryption, which is often referred to as “bank-grade” security. All CosmoLex servers are located in the United States and, CosmoLex notes, are subject to U.S. jurisdiction. This may be a plus or a minus depending on your viewpoint.

CosmoLex has McAfee run a third-party security audit every 24 hours, and a third-party penetration test from May 2016 found “no exploitable vulnerabilities … that could compromise customer data.”

To its credit, CosmoLex is quite transparent about its security features.

Backup. CosmoLex backs up your data every four hours and keeps multiple, redundant, encrypted backups in several locations. However, there is no way to download a copy of your data.

Migration. CosmoLex can help you migrate data from your existing law practice management and accounting software. Plan ahead, though; data migration takes longer than simply signing up for a CosmoLex account. For non-financial data (i.e., contacts, matters, and associated information), you will have to work with CosmoLex technicians. Depending on the complexity of the data migration job, it could even take days or weeks to complete.

CosmoLex provides instructions for migrating financial data yourself (or with the help of your bookkeeper or accountant), but you do have to wait until your non-financial data has been migrated. CosmoLex technicians or certified partners can also take care of migrating your financial data for a fee, or a minimum-term commitment.

Visit Website

3 CosmoLex Community Reviews

  1. Avatar Deian M. says:

    Just left CosmoLex

    We moved to CosmoLex a year ago after being unsatisfied with Clio, so (full disclosure) I’m not an easy-to-please client after working in technology and dealing with many user interfaces for years before starting a law practice.

    CosmoLex has a great idea to integrate the GL and MMS, but the execution is flawed and clunky. There are too many pulldowns and checkboxes and eccentricities that hinder the great features. For example, email capture is great, and you could review the billable time from inside of the captured email. Still, it was impossible to go the other way and look at an invoice online and then get to the email for which you have billed from the billable time. We ended up inventing an elaborate description to include the date/time stamp of the email so we could trace it back.

    Also, customer service was not impressive. The service reps always seemed to take a very ambivalent approach, so much so that we just gave up calling. I think they were probably happy to get rid of us, which is a valuable lesson for me in picking a vendor. Find that level of service that you need; don’t settle for less.

    We switched to MyCase plus a cloud accounting system where it’s still a challenge to get things done, but it’s half the price, and MyCase doesn’t promise things it can’t deliver. I’m using the features of MyCase more than I ever did on Clio or CosmoLex, too, like tasks and client intake. My clients avoided the client interface on CosmoLex, but they use the MyCase interface daily.

    We tried to make CosmoLex work, but in the end, it felt like we were feeding a giant machine that never gave us useful business data back and cost us a ton of time in lost productivity.

  2. Avatar J. Ansley S. says:

    4.7 Rating - Great to have accounting and case mgmt combined

    I’ve been using Cosmolex for over a year after experience with Clio and find that it pushes itself just over Clio. I also find it just slightly faster than Clio as well in toggling between tabs, matters, etc. Also, it is much easier to send reminders all at once for unpaid bills in Cosmolex than in Clio.

    The main reason I like Cosmolex over Clio is that it handles my accounting too. I can link expenses to a matter to be reimbursed by the client. That way, the money I receive from the client is properly separated into reimbursements v. income. It integrates with Law Pay so that once I send the invoice, I don’t need to check back to see if the client has paid – it will automatically update as such once the client does so. I like having the accounting and case mgmt all together in one platform so I don’t have to purchase a separate software system for accounting.

    The one downside is that if you want a bookkeeper- you need one who knows how to use Cosmolex. I haven’t started a bookkeeper yet because I want to understand exactly how everything works and comes together for this year’s books before turning it over to someone else. They do, however, have a list of accredited bookkeepers who have completed the necessary training, and I’m sure I’ll engage one of them in the coming year.

    For both Clio and Cosmolex, I can always talk to a technician/helper anytime I want. This is big for me because I am really forgetful of how to do software tasks right. Clio also has the chat feature with someone always available and I can always call someone with Cosmolex, so they tie on this measure.

  3. Avatar Narissa J. says:

    Robust Features

    What I love above CosmoLex is the many case management options as well as the accounting capability. In addition, anytime I need to speak to a real person they are always available.

Leave a Review

Posts About CosmoLex