About MyCase

Legal product reviews and business guidance from industry experts.

Lawyerist Icon

MyCase

mycase logo

Lawyerist Rating for MyCase

i

Rating Breakdown

Our Rating: 4.7/5

Our rating is based on our subjective judgment. Use our resources—including our rating and community ratings and reviews—to find the best fit for your firm.

Community Rating: 4.9/5 (based on 20 ratings)

The community rating is based on the average of the community reviews below.

Composite Rating: 4.8/5

The composite rating is a weighted average of our rating and the community ratings below.

4.8/5

Product Details

Apps
  • Android
  • iOS
  • Web
Installation
  • Cloud
Software Integrations
  • Dropbox
  • Google Calendar
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • QuickBooks Online

Core Features

For Law Practice Management Software, the following are essential features, and you should therefore expect to see a check in every box in this section.

Yes
No

Case/Matter Management

Matter management is the defining feature of law practice management software, of course. However, some software is targeted at specific practice areas and may implement case management in different ways in order to manage information specific to those practice areas.

Client/Contact Management

Managing clients and other contacts is a core feature of law practice management software.

Task Management

Basic task management includes creating tasks with due dates that can be associated with cases/matters and assigned to different lawyers. Some products stick to pretty basic task management, while others offer enough features to make any Getting Things Done devotee happy.

Calendar

As with email, this feature means a full calendar client, not just an integration with Outlook or Google Calendar.

Timekeeping

Timekeeping is a core feature of practice management software, essential for lawyers who bill by the hour but useful even for those who don't.

Conflict Checking

An actual conflict checker is more than just a search box. This applies to software that actually has a conflict checking feature. Implementation varies, but at a minimum you should be able to search the entire database for matching names. It should check for conflicts accurately and intuitively, allow for a lateral hire to input their conflict database into the system, work quickly when new clients call, and comply with the rules of professional conduct for checking conflicts.

Email Client

Does it include a full email client? (Alternative solutions that don't amount to an email client, like plugins for Outlook or Gmail, do not earn a check for this feature. See software integrations, below.))

Text Messaging

Can you send and receive text messages and associate them with your matters?

Document Management

Basic document management allows you to add documents and associate them with your cases/matters.

Document Assembly

Loading your firm’s document templates into your law practice management software can save time and ensure consistency. This check means basic document assembly suitable for form letters, invoices, etc. For advanced document assembly, you’ll probably need additional software.

Secure Client Portal

Does the provider have a way for your client to interact with you or their information in the system? This can take many forms. It can be a way to securely view and pay bills, a method of scheduling meetings, or a way for your client to view information about their case itself.

Basic Bookkeeping

This means basic checkbook register–style bookkeeping, which is more limited than full accounting. You should be able to keep track of your operating accounts and reconcile your balances, but you may still need full accounting software.

Trust Accounting

This means you can track your client trust accounts, including expenses and payments. It is normal to see trust accounting without basic bookkeeping or full accounting, in which case you will need something else for accounting.

Full Accounting

Some software includes full double-entry accounting features, making additional accounting software unnecessary.

Billing & Invoicing

Does the software allow you to send bills or invoices?

Online Payments

Payment processing is increasingly offered either as an included or add-on feature, especially with cloud-based law practice management software.

Open API

An Open application programing interface (API) allows other software programs to interact with the platform. It allows users to build integrations where there might not currently be one. However, not all APIs are equal. If you are looking to integrate using an API, it's advisable to review the platform's documentation before making a decision.

Compare MyCase Similar Products

Select another product to compare:

MyCase

4.8/5

mycase logo
Pros
  • Cloud-based
  • Strong Task Management
  • Client Portal
Cons
  • Lack of Integrations
  • Limited Intake
  • Simple Document Management

PracticePanther

4.5/5

practicepanther logo
Pros
  • Cloud-based
  • Intake
  • Customizability
Cons
  • No Client Portal
  • Simple Document Management
  • Basic Templates

Rocket Matter

4.3/5

Rocket Matter Logo
Pros
  • Integrations
  • Client Portal
  • Project Management
Cons
  • Limited Intake
  • Simple Document Management
  • Basic Templates

Clio Manage

4.5/5

Clio Logo
Pros
  • Cloud-based
  • Integrations
  • Customizability
Cons
  • Basic Task Management
  • Basic Templates
  • Add-ons Needed

MyCase Community Reviews

4.9

Based on 20 Reviews

18
2
0
0
0
Write a Review

Leave a Review

Janaan H.

5/5

“MyCase is very user-friendly, letting me focus my time of the practice of law.”

March 24, 2021 10:43 AM

Overall: There are two top business problems that MyCase solves which are equally important: Invoicing and staying on top of the case by having one place where everything is located. Pros: The interface helps me stay on top of my casers and my billing, letting me know where I am and where I need to go. My clients have all said favorable things about using MyCase to stay connected and involved and I have peace of mind with its highly encrypted security. Cons: It's rather expensive for each user, so if there could be a discount for multiple users and/or a discount for long-term clients, that would be a nice way to say thank you. Also, there are some features we never use, so if we could pick and choose the features we want to use to bring the price down, that would be great also. The decision was price-driven. MyCase provided what we needed at a very competitive, affordable price.

Rachel A.

5/5

“4 Years and Counting . . .”

March 24, 2021 10:34 AM

Overall: Legal Problems in family law and mediation. Pros: What I like most are the E-signature and web payment. Cons: MyCase continues to improve its software and has been very useful and effective in the industry. What I like the least is the 'workflow' - most likely because I don't understand how to use it yet. I prefer to open a new case, set the workflow, and it automatically checks the box on what needs to be done next. I chose MyCase because it was not as expensive and easy to use. The interface is simple and straightforward... and did I mention that it's easy for potential clients to sign online. This feature alone has increased my client retention by 50%.

Andres B.

5/5

“Rodriguez Law Group, Inc.”

March 24, 2021 9:26 AM

MyCase helps you stay organized & remain efficient. I like everything about MyCase. It's perfect, thank you.

Robert T.

5/5

“MyCase has been a wonderful product to . . .”

March 24, 2021 9:23 AM

MyCase has been a wonderful product to keep our clients informed about there case or new clients being able to communicate with us.

Matthew K.

5/5

“Thrilled with it”

March 24, 2021 9:20 AM

I've been using MyCase since March 2016 and I couldn't be happier with it. My favorite features, as of July 2019, are: time tracking and billing, electronic payments, event reminders (both for me and my clients), automated document production, and electronic intake forms, and no specialized software (it's all cloud based). All this, and it costs less than less robust competitors. MyCase is a great way to bring your practice into the 21st century.

Jennifer G.

5/5

“MyCase is an amazing Case Management System”

March 24, 2021 9:17 AM

My client's love the client portal which allows them to view any documents saved into their file, review the calendaring of hearings to confirm they need to attend, and gives them the ability to pay their file online. I wish the billing portion allowed me to turn off credit card payments to avoid the ACH fees. I also wish that the reporting would have separate payments into trust separate from income to accurately report the balance made to date. MyCase keeps my case files easily organized, allows clients to contact me and review the status of their file without needing to ask me questions and keeps everything in one place.

REVIEWS (6 out of 20)

Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I use MyCase?

As a cloud-based law practice management platform, you can access your files from any modern web browser. Additionally, MyCase has both iPhone and Android apps for users on the go.

What is the price of MyCase?

MyCase has two pricing tiers: Basic, and Pro. Basic, if paid annually, will run $39.00 per month. If you want all the features of Pro, however, it will run $59.00 per user per month.

Is MyCase secure?

MyCase software is built on Amazon’s EC2 cloud servers. These are in anonymous locations in the United States, and are protected by military-grade perimeters. As you can imagine, Amazon also strictly controls physical access to these sites. MyCase utilizes these servers for storage, data redundancy, and information backup. Your data, and your client information, is secured in-transit (moving from computer to computer) and at-rest (sitting on the data servers) with “bank-grade” encryption, and the option of two-factor authentication (2FA).

Does MyCase integrate with Microsoft 365?

Yes, it has two-way synchronization with Outlook, Outlook Online, and Microsoft Exchange servers. This brings all of your email actions inside the platform so there is no need to install add-ons. It also syncs with Outlook 365 calendars.

Does MyCase integrate with Google Workspace?

Yes, there is a two-way sync with both Gmail, and Google Calendar.

Can MyCase handle my Trust Accounting?

Yes, the application can handle all but the most complex trust accounting. Although, attorneys who are subject to frequent audits will want to review MyCase's capabilities carefully.

Can I accept online payments with MyCase?

MyCase Payments lets you charge for consultations, take payments in your office, and set up payment plans with auto-billing (or reminders, if you prefer).

Does MyCase integrate with Zapier?

No, it does not integrate with Zapier.

Can I automate documents with MyCase?

Yes, law firms can use MyCase Document Writer to create documents and templates that can be populated using merge fields within the software application.

Is MyCase compatible with both PC and Mac?

MyCase is cloud-based software. Mac, PC, or even Linux users should be able to use it with ease. All your law firm needs is a modern web browser.

Additional Details about MyCase

CRM & Leads Management

Integrated Leads Management. Although it may not be as robust as some stand-alone products, MyCase ships with a client relationship management (CRM) system already built into the application. Which means you don’t have to spend any time setting up the integration or choosing a system that works-and-plays-well with your other software.

Intake forms and appointment scheduling. Attorneys, or their staff, can build intake forms from within the system. They can then embed them directly on your website and allow potential clients to enter their contact information directly into your system for you. Additionally, you can set up your website to let clients schedule consultations and other appointments without the need to call your office.

Client Portal & Communication

Client Portal. The MyCase Client Portal allows for cloud-based, secure communication between your firm and your clients through email, instant messaging, and commentary on uploaded files. It may not be the easiest thing to get your Clients to use (which is the case for most Client Portals), but it offers much of the ease of texting without the additional security risks.

Email. MyCase now includes a full email client. It syncs up with just about any email provider, so you can continue to use Gmail, Office 365, etc. However, you can also use the built-in MyCase email client and associate your emails with matters. Additionally, MyCase is also smart enough to remember those associations, so the same contacts will automatically be associated with the relevant matter without further review.

Shared Documents. Although you can integrate with DropBox, MyCase will also allow you to store your client documents within the system. You can then share these documents with your clients, make commentary on them, or even allow your clients to upload their own documents.

E-signatures. MyCase includes built-in e-signing for retainer agreements and other documents. You can increase your efficiency without adding any third-party software or integrations.

Billing & Accounting

Smart Time Finder. If you bill by the hour, MyCase’s Smart Time Finder will help you keep track of your time. Whenever you take an action in the system, the software automatically creates a draft time entry, so your attorney billing is simplified. Ideally, you’ll simply need to periodically review what MyCase has documented in order to track your time.

Security & Data

Backup. As a standard cloud-based security measure, MyCase regularly backs-up your data to its own servers. However, it is always good practice to have your own back-up protocol. To that end, you can download a .CSV file once-a-day. This can include all of your firm’s data, and all of your firm’s open files. Or, it can just include cases linked to a particular user. This gives you the freedom to set-up different data management based on specific users, and with your own storage limits in mind.

Migrating. MyCase offers self-service and assisted data-migration at no additional cost to new customers. This is extremely helpful, however, as with most practice management software, you probably won’t be able to import all your data. This new system may not have the same fields as the software from which you are importing. But, with its assisted support, mapping and importing your data into MyCase isn’t as daunting as it may seem. MyCase, for its part, recommends importing a maximum of 2000 records at a time, so you may want to build in some time to transfer all of your data.

News About Products & Services for Small Law Firms