Lawyerist affinity partner badge.

Discount Available to new customers

Smith.ai offers a discount to new customers through our Affinity Benefits program. The details of this discount are only available to members. Learn more about the Affinity Benefits program or if you are a member of Insider or Lab.

smith ai logo

Smith.ai

Visit Website

Smith.ai Rating:
4.5/5

Features

  • Customer Experience & Support - 9/10
    9/10
  • Pricing & Value - 8.75/10
    8.8/10
  • Innovation & Future-Proofing - 8.75/10
    8.8/10
Comments Rating 4.57 (7 reviews)
Details

Rating Breakdown

Our Rating: 4.4/5

Our rating is based on our subjective judgment. Use our resources—including our rating and community ratings and reviews—to find the best fit for your firm.

Community Rating: 4.6/5 (based on 7 ratings)

The community rating is based on the average of the community reviews below.

Composite Rating: 4.5/5

The composite rating is a weighted average of our rating and the community ratings below.

Smith.ai combines virtual receptionists, 24/7 live and AI chat, and basic phone services for small law firms with per-call (instead of per-minute) pricing.

Who Smith.ai is For

Smith.ai is a good fit for most small firms, especially firms that use several of the integrations Smith.ai offers, or who want to take advantage of website chat—Smith.ai’s combination of live and AI-powered chat seems to be quite effective. However, firms that need a live phone receptionist 24/7 will also need an after-hours answering service for backup.

Smith.ai Features

Website
smith.ai
Services Offered
  • Chat
  • Phone
  • Virtual Receptionist
Starting Price
$70/month for 10 calls
Free Trial
Software Integrations
  • ActiveCampaign
  • Acuity
  • Agile CRM
  • ApointmentCore
  • Appointy
  • AppToto
  • Calendly
  • Capsule CRM
  • ClientRock
  • Clio Grow
  • Clio Manage
  • Filevine
  • Harmonizely
  • Headnote
  • HubSpot
  • Infusionsoft
  • Lawmatics
  • LawPay
  • Lead Docket
  • Lexicata
  • Pipedrive
  • PracticePanther
  • Rocket Matter
  • Salesforce
  • ScheduleOnce
  • Schedulista
  • Setmore
  • Slack
  • Square Appointments
  • WhenWorks
  • Woven
  • Youcanbook.me
  • Zapier
  • ZynCal Calendar
Virtual Receptionist Features
While all virtual receptionist services include a live receptionist and allow you to use your own phone number, some offer additional features like appointment scheduling or client intake. Availability varies, as well. Some virtual receptionists are available 24/7/365, while others are available during business hours (usually extended to accommodate multiple North American time zones) with voicemail outside of those hours.
Live Receptionist
Although they are called "virtual" receptionists, the person who answers the phone is, in fact, a real person who can use your customized greeting, request information according to your instructions, make warm transfers to you, or take messages.
Receptionist Hours
5am–9pm PT/8am–12am ET Mon–Fri
Appointment Scheduling
You can give your receptionist access to your calendar or scheduler so they can book appointments for you.
Client Intake
A virtual receptionist service can be a partner in your intake process rather than only and ask questions and gather information according to your intake script.
Outbound Calls
Some virtual receptionist services will make calls for you in order to relay basic information such as confirming an appointment, providing directions to your office, or making referrals.
Free Local or Toll-Free Phone Number
You may prefer to use a different phone number to help you track your callers, or a toll-free number to make it easier for some people to contact you.
Additional Languages
  • Spanish
Chat Features
There are two kinds of chat offerings: live chat and chatbots. Both can be hosted on your website so that visitors can contact your firm by typing rather than calling. Live chat means a real person is available to chat with visitors, like a virtual receptionist for text-based messaging. A chatbot, on the other hand, offers pre-scripted responses to visitors' input, sometimes with the help of AI.
Live Chat
We're using live chat to mean chat plus a team to respond to inquiries, as opposed to a chat tool you can use to respond yourself.
Live Chat Hours
24/7
Chat Tool
With a chat tool you can add a chat box to your website so that visitors can chat directly with you or your firm staff when you are available.
Chatbot
A chatbot is an automated messaging tool for automated communication with visitors to your website or within commonly used messaging apps like Facebook Messenger. Some are essentially a guided form, while others might use AI to answer more complex questions.
Phone Features
A hosted phone solution allows you to move your entire phone system to the cloud. It can also come with advanced call routing options, call recording, analytics, and more.
Call Routing
With call routing you can direct incoming calls based on criteria you set. For example, you could send existing clients directly to the lawyer handling their matter. Or distribute potential client calls evenly among intake staff. Or just send calls to your virtual receptionist after hours.
Voicemail Transcription
Your phone service can transcribe your voicemails using text recognition software so you can read your messages instead of listening to them.
Call Recording
"This call may be recorded for quality control purposes." Only if you want to, of course.
Call Analytics
Use information about your calls to identify patterns, calculate the ROI of your marketing efforts, and improve your client service.
Text Messaging
Send and receive text messages using your business phone system.

Additional Details about Smith.ai

Qualified new leads. Smith.ai can help qualify potential clients based on your criteria, then handle the call accordingly (by transferring the call to you, scheduling a call back, booking a consultation on your calendar, or making a referral). Smith.ai can even take payment if you charge for new client consults.

Free spam blocking. Smith.ai blocks spam, sales, and wrong-number calls for free so you won’t be charged, plus any specific numbers you want blocked.

Rotating receptionists. There are no set receptionists for your practice. Instead, a rotating group of receptionists will handle your calls according to the criteria and preferences you will have sent to Smith.ai before enrolling in their service. Having no set receptionists means that if you happen to receive many calls at once, either through a new marketing campaign or by just being busy there will be plenty of capacity to handle your higher call volume. And don’t worry about training new receptionists to your practice, they’ll be using proprietary AI software to handle calls naturally, following the prompts and interface (not scripts) on their computer screens.

Limited live reception hours. Smith.ai’s live reception is available for the vast majority of the day in the US, from 8am Eastern until 9pm Pacific, Monday through Friday. But it is not a 24/7/365 service. However, Smith.ai’s live chat service is available 24/7/365, so we think the live reception hours will eventually go to 24/7/365 as well.

Visit Website

Alternatives to Smith.ai

7 Smith.ai Community Reviews

  1. Avatar Kim B. says:

    Amazing service!

    I’ve been with Smith for some time and every day I am happier with the services. My clients and potential clients love them and they are always helpful with improving how I create a client-focused business.

    As a service provider that hates the billable hour, I love that Smith has created a flexible service that focuses on providing value to its customers and not simply charging by the minute.

    The team is open to suggestions, communicates well, and offers recommendations to improve my business.

    And – did I mention how well they use the other tools in my business! Fab service and I recommend them to everyone.

    Smith is an invaluable part of my team and I’m happy to be a long-time customer!

  2. EmilyCooper Emily C. says:

    Great back up

    Our office used Smith.ai as our exclusive outsourced receptionist for years. We now use it for back up to our full time receptionist. Smith ai was able to handle our unique intake process, schedule intake and client appointments and allow our firm to grow and scale by basically being our full-time receptionist until we were ready to hire our own. Now we have phones roll over to Smith ai when our receptionist is at lunch or too busy or out. It is great to know that even when our on site person cannot answer the phone, our back up keeps things smooth, can handle matters using the same process and assures the our customers are getting great service.

  3. Avatar Carol W. says:

    Absolutely Wonderful

    Smith.ai has really helped me provide another level of service to my potential and current clients. Before Smith.ai I wasn’t able to answer all the calls and get all the legal work done. I was missing too many calls. Having Smith.ai speak to current clients ensures they don’t feel ignored when I’m unable to get to the phone right away. I’ve also captured more clients because Smith.ai transfers all potential clients directly to me rather then them going to voicemail. This ensures I speak to them right away.

    Smith.ai is super responsive. I have changed call instructions often and Smith.ai responds the same day. When my instructions haven’t been super clear, they have affirmatively reached out to me for clarification rather than just guessing.

    Smith.ai makes my life as a law firm owner easier!

  4. Avatar Jess B. says:

    LIFE SAVER!!

    I’m a solo and I used to answer my own phones. That is until one holiday season I had a PC call that died in my voicemail and was unearthed 3 weeks later after the New Year. OOPS. (Miraculously they hired me anyway). After that I decided that I needed to upgrade my phone game. I’ve been working with Smith.Ai for phone calls and chat for over a year now and absolutely LOVE IT.

    I firmly believe that if somebody picks up a phone to call you they want a human being to answer. Not a phone tree and not your voicemail saying you only return calls between 4 and 6 pm or whatever. Your clients deserve a human being to pick up the phone. Now my clients get that. I have a basic call handling procedure that the VRs handle brilliantly.

    I really love the slack integration, they can ping me and see if my staff or I are available for the call and if we aren’t they schedule a call time with our Acuity account. The whole thing just works brilliantly and I don’t ever want to go back to answering my own phones ever again!

  5. Avatar Justie N. says:

    Smith.ai is great

    I have been a Smith.ai customer for quite some time. I think I first found them when I was a Lawyerist Insider. Maddy and I connected over never answering my own phone again. Our mutual love for making things more efficient grew from there. The entire team at Smith.ai is of that mindset. I recently expanded and brought on a partner, so I am experiencing the team side of things for the first time. I have found that with appropriate account instructions, Smith.ai handles all of our needs exceptionally well. And when there is doubt about what happens with a particular type of call, or what the account instructions are, or even what to do about their varying intake procedures–I get direct emails from their OWNERS making sure my concerns are noted and adjusting things to my needs. I’ve had chat and Zapier integration for quite some time. They do an amazing job. I’m now providing some feedback on their phone system, Keypad, as we just made that switch, as well. Smith handles all of our inbound and outbound calls with minimal errors and exceptional attention to detail.

  6. Avatar John S. says:

    Great Service!

    I’ve been using Smith.ai for over a year, and I’m not going anywhere else. I know that I’ve got someone ready to answer calls for me during the day and get the right information from my clients for me. They also help by blocking the calls I shouldn’t receive (like telemarketers and spam), and then they don’t charge me for those calls.

    The flat-rate pricing is great–I’m not worried about getting a surprise bill from them. I know what to expect each month.

    Maddy & the team have been great at getting things set up. Beyond that, they’ve spent hours helped me work on my call structure so that it works better for me, my staff, and my clients. What other service will offer that support?

    Yes, there are times that call volume is up and they don’t get right to the call. This is frustrating, but it’s a reality of all business–we get swamped sometimes.

  7. nickp Nicholas P. says:

    Bad Quality

    Just canceled our service today. They started letting a lot of our calls go to voicemail in the middle of the workday. I don’t need to pay someone $500/month to transcribe voicemails, my iPhone does that automatically.
    Also not a good fit for teams. If I set my status to away when I’m in court, they will not transfer any calls to my paralegal. Very paradoxical.
    The ability to text them to set your status is a nice feature. I hope they expand on the text messages to allow you to text a human and ask them to do things. Right now it is texting a bot and you have to text it with the exact command or it won’t work.
    Smith.ai is a good idea, but they don’t have any customer support to speak of. You always have to wait for a call back the next day. Not responsive and not acceptable.

Leave a Review

Posts About Smith.ai