About Documate

Legal product reviews and business guidance from industry experts.

Lawyerist Icon

Documate

Documate logo

Lawyerist Rating for Documate

i

Rating Breakdown

Our Rating: 4.8/5

Our rating is based on our subjective judgment. Use our resources—including our rating and community ratings and reviews—to find the best fit for your firm.

Community Rating: 4.3/5 (based on 6 ratings)

The community rating is based on the average of the community reviews below.

Composite Rating: 4.6/5

The composite rating is a weighted average of our rating and the community ratings below.

4.6/5

Product Details

Services Offered
  • Document Automation
Apps
  • Web
Software Integrations
  • Clio
  • Word
  • Zapier
  • Stripe
  • Google Sheets
  • DocuSign
  • HelloSign

Core Features

For Document Management & Automation, the following are essential features, and you should therefore expect to see a check in every box in this section.

Yes
No

Free Trial

Open API

An open API means that the program has an application programming interface that will allow it to directly integrate with other software programs such your firm's timekeeping, accounting, or custom relationship management software.

Version Control

This means the software provides information on document revisions and makes sure you are using the most recent version of a template.

Encryption

Built-In E-Signing

Optical Character Recognition (OCR)

Metadata Scrubbing

Document Templates

The document management program creates resuable templates.

Court Forms

Guided Interviews

The program can create a guided interview and then use the client's answers to automatically create a document.

Conditional Logic

If the software uses conditional logic, this means that you can choose to have certain text in your assembled document included only under certain conditions

Tables

This means the software can generate tables of any size and place them in your assembled document.

Calculations

If this field is checked, it means the software can perform calculations based on numerical or text input.

Compare Documate Similar Products

Select another product to compare:

Documate

4.6/5

Documate logo
Pros
  • MS Word Add-in
  • Guided Interviews
  • White Labeling
Cons
  • Expensive
  • Not Document Management
  • Not All Features in Initial Tier

Lawyaw

4.6/5

Lawyaw logo
Pros
  • Ready-made Forms
  • MS Word Add-in
  • Low-Code
Cons
  • No Guided Interviews
  • No ePayments
  • No White Labelling

HotDocs

3.9/5

HotDocs logo
Pros
  • MS Word Add-in
  • Integrations
  • Open API
Cons
  • No ePayments
  • Complex Set-up
  • Not for Solos

Afterpattern

3.9/5

Afterpattern logo
Pros
  • Built-in eSignature
  • White Labeling
  • Online Payments
Cons
  • No Ready-made Templates
  • Complex Set-up
  • Not Turn-key

Knackly

4.4/5

Knackly logo
Pros
  • MS Word Add-in
  • Low-Code
  • Open API
Cons
  • No ePayments
  • Complex Set-up
  • Not for Solos

Documate Community Reviews

4.3

Based on 6 Reviews

5
0
0
0
1
Write a Review

Leave a Review

Robert B.

1/5

“June 7, 2022 Update Renders Software Useless for Lawyers”

June 13, 2022 2:05 PM

After using documate for over 2 years, documate randomly re-wrote their software on June 7, 2022. The software is now only useful if you have 2 or fewer "interviews" or only 1 client. The software, while it had its limitations, could at least pull answers from one interview into another answer file allowing you to use the new updated template with your client's data. Now, however, you can no longer search answer files by client name, preventing you from finding your client's most recent answer file and importing those answers into a new template. My office spent over 2 years building templates and training around the software as it was formerly built. All of that time is now a waste and documate has no answer or solution.

Noel F.

5/5

“been looking for this for years”

November 13, 2020 9:26 PM

Great product and team. Excited I found it here! Robust enough that I can do almost anything in my documents and not have to make edits after they generate. But also dead simple to get started. And it can be client-facing. Their team is responsive at all hours of the days, nights, and weekends - dont know if their team sleeps!!! I have tried pretty much every solution out there, and the others are all so developer-centric that I couldn't figure them out, and I'm pretty tech savvy! Best platform out there - been looking for something like this for my entire time practicing.

Kristofer S.

5/5

“Not just doc automation, but legal product/app builder!”

October 22, 2020 8:53 PM

I cannot emphasize how much Documate has changed my practice. I started using it for pure document automation, but I have now built a suite of legal products and web apps (e.g., I have a "TurboTax" for uncontested divorces, one for wills, and another for employment docs, and many more coming!) that I charge consumers for using Documate and the paywall integrations. So the software has paid dividends in allowing me to monetize my practice by building flat fee tools. I was going to hire a developer to help me do this, but Documate is like your own personal software development tool for your firm (but I didn't need to learn anything about code). It's been easy and intuitive to set up, but whenever I've had questions, their customer service has far surpassed my expectations. I've made a few feature requests that they implemented. So, for that, you're welcome to the rest of you... :)

Josh J.

5/5

“Goldilocks of legal platforms”

April 7, 2020 1:36 PM

Lots of power, but also super easy to use. Justttt right.

TJ J.

5/5

“Powerful tool for complex document automation and client collaboration”

March 25, 2020 12:33 PM

Our firm uses Documate to generate a variety of contract sets. Because no coding knowledge is required, we were able to set it up very quickly. It allows for quite a bit of complexity in formatting your documents, adding conditional logic, and setting up complex calculations. The system passed our high privacy and data security requirements, and they set every user up on a dedicated instance, which is crucial when you're dealing with sensitive legal information. Whenever we have had any "wish list" items, they've been quick to add features. The customer service is excellent.

SuzeL

5/5

“Our firm loves Documate”

March 6, 2020 11:20 AM

Used to be HotDocs users, but we switched to Documate last year. We love the software. It's very easy to set up workflows, but it also has been able to do everything we want it to - all kinds of formatting, conditions, calculations, etc. Thanks to the Documate team for their excellent customer support, too.

REVIEWS (6 out of 6)

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the price of Documate?

Documate pricing starts at $83/month for two users.

Does Documate integrate with my Law Practice Management Software?

The platform integrates directly with Clio Manage and allows the import of Client and Matter information. However, through their Zapier integration, lawyers can connect to a whole host of Law Practice Management Systems and other applications. As of this review, however, Documate's Zapier integration is a bit weak.

Can my law office accept eSignatures through Documate?

Yes. Using either the HelloSign, or DocuSign integration, users can easily add eSign capabilities into their application.

Can my law firm accept ePayments through Documate?

Yes. Through its integrations with Stripe, lawyers can add a paywall anywhere in the Documate workflow.

Does Documate have Guided Interviews or client-facing forms?

Yes. With Documate, users can create Guided Interviews (and include video instructions), or simply use client-facing forms to input and manipulate information in their documents.

Is Documate easy for lawyers to use?

As a no-code solution, Documate’s MS Word add-on makes it relatively easy for non-programmers to create documents. As with all document assembly solutions, however, users will need to have an idea of basic programming concepts like loops, variables, and conditional logic. Which, you can likely learn from their how-to videos and tutorials.

Can my law firm use our own templates?

Yes. In fact, loading your own templates and then using the MS Word add-on to automate them is probably the best way to begin.

Does Documate have ready-made templates?

No. But with the MS Word add-on, it is relatively easy to get started using your own forms.

How difficult is Documate to set-up?

The platform is a no-code solution with a Microsoft Word add-on. For simple documents and workflows, users can generally get set-up almost immediately. However, as with all document assembly products, we definitely suggest taking advantage of Documate's on-boarding process and reviewing their how-to videos. This app's strength is in some of it's more complex features, and users will want to take advantage of that.

Will Documate work on my computer?

As a browser-based solution, Documate will work on any computer with a modern browser. Obviously, in order to use the MS Word add-in, users will need separate access to MS Word.

Additional Details about Documate

Redaction. This platform allows you to collect sensitive data, such as Social Security Numbers, on intake forms, but redact that information on the document that is generated. Which means that the information is still retained but will not appear in the document.

Custom Development. Documate can help you get all your forms and templates up on their system with its Automation Specialist program.  This is particularly useful for busy firms who don’t have time to set up hundreds of templates.

Server location choices. Set up your server anywhere in the world to comply with data security laws in your jurisdiction.

News About Products & Services for Small Law Firms

Improve Client Experience with LawPay Custom Payment Pages...

Read Post

Hire Differently, Hire Better, with Rick Girard

Read Post

Google Vicinity Update Enhances Importance of Local SEO

Read Post

Craft Better Firm Intake Through Automation with Law...

Read Post

Start With Succession Planning in Mind, with Steven...

Read Post

Marketing Through Podcasts, with LawPods (Sponsored)

Read Post

LawPay Acquires MyCase: What Does it Mean for...

Read Post

LawPay Takes Care of PCI Compliance While You...

Read Post

MyCase Drive Brings Native Document Management to Users

Read Post

Dealing With Grief in the Workplace, with Sherry...

Read Post

Lawyerist Works Remotely

Read Post

Both Sides of Freelance Work, with LawClerk (Sponsored)

Read Post

CosmoLex Highlights Versatility with Robust Custom Fields

Read Post

Change Your Law Firm (and Your Life) with...

Read Post

Beyond Status Quo Marketing, with CallRail (Sponsored)

Read Post

Lawyerist Values: Grow as People

Read Post

Immigration Software as Flexible as You Are

Read Post

Avoiding Common Project Management Mistakes, with Ashley Steckler

Read Post

Lawyerist Adds Depth to Its Marketing Team with...

Read Post

Zola Suite All-in-One CRM to Accounting

Read Post